The Institute for Technology in Health Care

The ITHC approached the AAMI Foundation and the Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation Foundation / Institute for Technology in Health Care Clinical Solutions Award was established in 2005.  This is an award that recognizes career achievement in the field of Clinical Engineering. 

Past Recipients of The AAMI Foundation & ITHC Clinical Solution Award Winners
2015 – Texas Children's Hospital Alarm Management Team
2014 – Robert D. Butterfield
2013 – Lancaster General Hospital and Hospira
2013 – Monitor Research Team, Children's National Medical Center
2011 – James P. Welch and George T. Blike, MD
2010 – Elliot B. Sloane, PhD, CCE, FHIMSS
2009 – Julian M. Goldman, MD
2006 – Thomas M. Judd, CCE
2005 – Antonio Hernandez

2016 Award Recipient
James Piepenbrink

James Piepenbrink was recognized for his commitment to combatting clinical alarm fatigue. At Boston Medical Center, Piepenbrink succeeded in reducing audible alarms from roughly 88,000 to 10,000 by creating a multidisciplinary team and prioritizing the problem across the organization.